Page 1 of 1

Some new user questions; I've read the FAQ.

Posted: Sun 13 Oct 2019 16:30
by romanaFive
Am I missing some easy way get files in/out of this device? RS-97 "Retrogame" handhelds just make a big FAT32 partition which any computer can mount, assuming it has a card reader. So much simpler than all the Wifi/bluetooth, networking, permissions crap involved in retropie.

Charging takes FOREVER?! I used the charger doctor current meter to measure and it never goes higher than about 200-350 mA, even with battery so low Retrostone does not turn on. Tried multiple cables and chargers, including expensive Apple iPad charger (2A, 5V), but nothing goes any faster.

Can I

Code: Select all

apt-get upgrade
Supreme 1.3 or will it mess up things? Is this a real linux distribution or some sort of hack that can't be upgraded with apt?

Are all emulators already installed? I didn't see a ti99sim folder in ~/RetroPie/roms. (My favourite 80s computer.)

Re: Some new user questions; I've read the FAQ.

Posted: Mon 14 Oct 2019 17:54
by Admin
The SD only have ext4 partition. Indeed it's not very convenient to read it on windows to transfert files.
I suggest using paragonFS. I'm using the trial version and it never expired and still works. It mounts automatically EXT4 partition.
Only thing is that if you write files you need to unmount them from the software to make sure the changes are saved.

Charging speed should not be so slow. It should be 0.6A for charging alone. So with system it should be about 1.3-1.5A
I don't know this hardware you'r using. Maybe it prevent full current to go through. However if you'r using this it's probably that you found charge was very slow.
With all the chargers/cables you always have 200-350mA? Even without this charging doctor you can't achieve charge in 7 hours?

If so I think there's probably a hardware issue which will require replacement.

Just for reference I'm using these cables which are pretty usefull I think. Just thought I would share them :
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3298690 ... 4c4dcTQ3dP
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3297054 ... 4c4dcTQ3dP

About ti99sim I don't know I never used this one. Best is to ask retrorangepi developper about it.

Re: Some new user questions; I've read the FAQ.

Posted: Mon 14 Oct 2019 21:02
by romanaFive
The only reason I tried the charger doctor was because retrostone was taking over 10 hours to charge; at first, I only used a cable and the iPod USB wall plug. The charger doctor can measure up to 2000 mA. I've used it before with ipods, ipad, etc.

I remember a long time ago getting ti99sim working in emulation station on a Rasperry pi "Pigrrl" handheld, but it involved some editing config files.

Anyway, a ti99sim-sdl binary is included in /opt/retropie/emulators/ti99sim/bin, but emulationstation does not know it is there. I put some TI99/4A roms in ~/RetroPie/ti99 and I tried editing /opt/retropie/configs/all/es_systems.cfg :

Code: Select all

<system>
<name>ti99</name>
<fullname>TI-99/4A</fullname>
<path>/home/pi/RetroPie/roms/ti99</path>
<extension>.ctg</extension>
<command>/opt/retropie/emulators/ti99sim/bin/ti99sim-sdl -f %ROM%</command>
<platform>ti99</platform>
<theme>ti99</theme>
</system>
but TI99/4A does not appear in the menu. The retrorangepi site says TI99/4A is supported.

However, I don't even know if I'm editing the right config files.....

Re: Some new user questions; I've read the FAQ.

Posted: Tue 15 Oct 2019 02:04
by romanaFive
I got ti99sim to run. I was editing the wrong copy of es_systems.cfg. (There are several: ~/es_systems.cfg, /etc/emulationstation/es_systems.cfg, and /opt/retropie/configs/all/emulationstation/es_systems.cfg.)

Anyway, you want this one: /opt/retropie/configs/all/emulationstation/es_systems.cfg

Code: Select all

<system>
<name>ti99</name>
<fullname>TI-99/4A</fullname>
<path>/home/pi/RetroPie/roms/ti99</path>
<extension>.ctg</extension>
<command>/opt/retropie/emulators/ti99sim/bin/ti99sim-sdl --fullscreen=2 %ROM%</command>
<platform>ti99</platform>
<theme>ti99</theme>
<directlaunch/>
<viewmode>DEFAULT</viewmode>
<enabled>true</enabled>
<gridsize>1</gridsize>
</system>
You have to have --fullscreen=2. Other modes appear tiny or messed-up.

Is there a way to customize the button mappings, just for ti99sim?

Unfortunately, this emulator is unusable without an external keyboard because none of the built-in buttons are mapped to 2 or escape. You have to press 2 to select an inserted cartridge rom and escape exits.