Several issues

Here is all the tutorials, FAQ and support for RetroStone
mywoodstock

Several issues

Post by mywoodstock »

Hi,

Received my retrostone last week and I have been doing quite a bit of playing around with it. In doing this i have run into a number of issues I want to address and the purpose of this post is more to see if others are experiencing similar things. The majority seem like software problems and if so I'd expect others to be having similar problems.

Firstly, I have been using the retrorange slim os recommended in the setup tutorial and I am running Windows 10 using etcher to flash the image. I have little experience with linux and these pcbs but have enough knowledge to follow instructions.

1) screen resolution is blurry making text and options difficult to read
This has been mentioned by most however I am including it for completeness. I know the screen is small but the resolution seems so much better in the Kickstarter video so it must be possible to improve. Is thisbthe fact the video used the HDMI out and the final product is using composite or is it a setting that can be changed in the os?

2) Some roms stop the machine booting
I have found that if I add certain roms it will stop the machine booting until these are removed. (With one time needed to re flash the os to fix the issue) So far these have been mostly psx (.ecm and .bin) and n64 roms but I have had a gba rom do this too and that was when I had to re flash the image.

3) The board has issues saving
I have found on numerous occasions that the board is not saving games properly, sometimes losing what I have uploaded (ie roms) and others not saving save files and reverting back to precious saves. I have found that pressing the reset button seems to help but not always. Once I reseted the machine and it reverted back to