Dreamcast?

Here is all the tutorials, FAQ and support for RetroStone
Post Reply
dr_bunsen
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed 15 Aug 2018 16:49

Dreamcast?

Post by dr_bunsen » Thu 23 Aug 2018 18:48

I have some .CHD roms in the Dreamcast folder, but they aren't showing up in Retropi, is there a Dreamcast emulator included?

User avatar
Admin
Administrateur du site
Posts: 431
Joined: Sat 10 Dec 2016 13:12

Re: Dreamcast?

Post by Admin » Fri 24 Aug 2018 11:45

I just checked and found you need to add the bios file for the dreamcast emulator to run (it's not included because the bios file is under copyright) :
http://orangepi.club/showthread.php?tid=143

Also on retrorangepi forum (http://orangepi.club/showthread.php?tid=2598) I found this
4. Not all platforms are supported in the SLIM release (examples: Amiga, AtariST, DOS, Apple II, Atari 8bit and some other obscure computer emulators). They will be included in FULL release, expected release in 7-10 days. Also includes the Armbian Desktop, Kodi and other stuff.
It says nothing about dreamcast though.

dr_bunsen
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed 15 Aug 2018 16:49

Re: Dreamcast?

Post by dr_bunsen » Fri 24 Aug 2018 17:14

Admin wrote:
Fri 24 Aug 2018 11:45
I just checked and found you need to add the bios file for the dreamcast emulator to run (it's not included because the bios file is under copyright) :
http://orangepi.club/showthread.php?tid=143

Also on retrorangepi forum (http://orangepi.club/showthread.php?tid=2598) I found this
4. Not all platforms are supported in the SLIM release (examples: Amiga, AtariST, DOS, Apple II, Atari 8bit and some other obscure computer emulators). They will be included in FULL release, expected release in 7-10 days. Also includes the Armbian Desktop, Kodi and other stuff.
It says nothing about dreamcast though.
Thanks! I did already think about the BIOS files and had added them for all the emulators that needed them according to this website, however Dreamcast did not show up: https://github.com/RetroPie/RetroPie-Setup/wiki/BIOS

It's odd too, since my Atari ST roms do show up despite the SLIM release not supporting them!

Unrelated, but FYI, GBA in particular runs much better with bios than without.

dr_bunsen
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed 15 Aug 2018 16:49

Re: Dreamcast?

Post by dr_bunsen » Thu 30 Aug 2018 17:45

So I got a bit further with running Dreamcast, not quite there yet though.

I found that the BIOS files need to be in a folder called "dc" and not directly in the BIOS folder like for other systems:
/home/pi/RetroPie/BIOS/dc

The BIOS files need to be named: dc_boot.bin, dc_flash.bin

The emulator Reicast doesn't seem to recognize .chd roms. I tried with some .cdi roms and they showed up ok in Emulation Station.

With this setup, the Dreamcast date and time settings screen started up and I was able to change them, however none of the buttons would execute select to set the date and time, so that's as far as I got.

Anyone have any tips to get beyond the date & time screen?

Daniel
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun 26 Aug 2018 11:00

Re: Dreamcast?

Post by Daniel » Thu 30 Aug 2018 18:37

I have the same issue with reicast.
When you open the retropie setup and then choose configuration/tools and then reicast you should configure the input devices. But when you choose this option you see a Permission denied error for a second. So i think it's a bug in the software.

dr_bunsen
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed 15 Aug 2018 16:49

Re: Dreamcast?

Post by dr_bunsen » Thu 30 Aug 2018 22:15

Daniel wrote:
Thu 30 Aug 2018 18:37
I have the same issue with reicast.
When you open the retropie setup and then choose configuration/tools and then reicast you should configure the input devices. But when you choose this option you see a Permission denied error for a second. So i think it's a bug in the software.
Thanks for the reply. Guess you're the same person who posted in the OrangPi forum about this too. Eagerly awaiting a response on that.....

Daniel
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun 26 Aug 2018 11:00

Re: Dreamcast?

Post by Daniel » Fri 31 Aug 2018 12:07

dr_bunsen wrote:
Thu 30 Aug 2018 22:15
Daniel wrote:
Thu 30 Aug 2018 18:37
I have the same issue with reicast.
When you open the retropie setup and then choose configuration/tools and then reicast you should configure the input devices. But when you choose this option you see a Permission denied error for a second. So i think it's a bug in the software.
Thanks for the reply. Guess you're the same person who posted in the OrangPi forum about this too. Eagerly awaiting a response on that.....

Yes, i'm the same guy :-)

Post Reply