Readable RetroArch GUI

Here is all the tutorials, FAQ and support for RetroStone
Post Reply
Jackamikaz
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed 29 Aug 2018 14:44

Readable RetroArch GUI

Post by Jackamikaz » Wed 29 Aug 2018 15:10

When you press select+X (in my case, your control scheme may be different) this brings up the RetroArch menu, with which you can tweak a lot of options right in the middle of a game (current save slot, resolution, take screenshot, change inputs, etc).
However by default it has the playstation look and feel, which makes most of the text unreadable on our little 320*240 screen.

Fortunately there is an alternative GUI you can use instead. It's called rgui, (the default one is called xmb) here are the steps to activate it :

- Go to the configuration editor
- 2 Advanced configuration
- 1 Configure libretro options
- 0 all/retroarch.cfg
- 8 menu_driver
- 0 rgui

That's it!

fraenksn
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu 23 Aug 2018 16:17

Re: Readable RetroArch GUI

Post by fraenksn » Fri 31 Aug 2018 23:07

This really makes sense and should be set by default. Thank you!

User avatar
Darkam
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun 26 Aug 2018 15:01
Location: Arcade City
Contact:

Re: Readable RetroArch GUI

Post by Darkam » Sat 1 Sep 2018 08:08

Yes, excellent idea, it's true that the "Playstation" look is definitively not adapted to a tiny screen. Thanks for this tips !
Darkam Onikaiju, fan de bornes d'arcade.

User avatar
wackko
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun 2 Sep 2018 13:39
Location: France

Re: Readable RetroArch GUI

Post by wackko » Thu 6 Sep 2018 15:41

In addition, if you perfer having the OSD norification in a readable size fonts, you'll need to change the video_font_size :

- Go to the configuration editor
- 2 Advanced configuration
- 1 Configure Libretro options
- 0 all/retroarch.cfg
- 23 Video_font_size
And change it (by default 12 it too small, 24 is big enough for me) !

I use 24 as size and OSD notification are readable (Saving/loading state notifications, RetroAchievements notifications, etc...)
Attachments
IMG_20180906_153321c.jpg
IMG_20180906_153321c.jpg (56.51 KiB) Viewed 2781 times

radiowaves
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu 6 Sep 2018 11:20

Re: Readable RetroArch GUI

Post by radiowaves » Thu 6 Sep 2018 19:18

I do not understand what is the menu you speak of. I can access some menu with start, but there is no configuration editor there, just things like input set (which does not work, I need to navigate the menu with buttons, but it automatically maps the buttons when I press)... Can someone post a screenshot for me please to know what to look for. This screen is unbearable for me, I can not read anything at all and it is messed up.

Jackamikaz
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed 29 Aug 2018 14:44

Re: Readable RetroArch GUI

Post by Jackamikaz » Fri 7 Sep 2018 19:54

radiowaves wrote:
Thu 6 Sep 2018 19:18
I do not understand what is the menu you speak of. I can access some menu with start, but there is no configuration editor there, just things like input set (which does not work, I need to navigate the menu with buttons, but it automatically maps the buttons when I press)... Can someone post a screenshot for me please to know what to look for. This screen is unbearable for me, I can not read anything at all and it is messed up.
The menu we speak of is the configuration editor. It's accessible when you start the retrostone and navigate to "Retropie" which sits alongside the consoles.

DevNull
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri 7 Sep 2018 18:55

Re: Readable RetroArch GUI

Post by DevNull » Sat 8 Sep 2018 17:46

Just to clarify, the configuration editor resides within the retropi menu with emulation station. It's one of the options in between SNES GBA psp etc.

Post Reply