Page 1 of 1

Safe shutdown script

Posted: Mon 1 Oct 2018 16:00
by torofinance
On the Kickstarter Comments following was asked about the shutdown button (safe shutdown script).

1. I would like to know how to do that?
2. Why can I not just use the turn-off button to shut down? What can happen?

@Pierre-Louis Boyer Will a safe shutdown script work with the Retrostone?
->
Yes, there's already one for the extra GPIO button on top of LCD buttons.

By default it's a rescue button for HDMI-> composite switch back. But it can be configured to be safeshutdown too.

Re: Safe shutdown script

Posted: Tue 2 Oct 2018 01:02
by zxdunny
Simply switching the RetroStone off with the power switch will likely kill your uSD card unless you're very lucky.

Re: Safe shutdown script

Posted: Wed 3 Oct 2018 07:37
by torofinance
¿And why will it "kill" the SD card?

2nd: what about this "safe shutdown script"?

Re: Safe shutdown script

Posted: Wed 3 Oct 2018 11:45
by Admin
There's already a safeshutdown script that is linked to the GPIO button. But by default it's a rescue button to switch back from HDMI to LCD.
I think retrorangepi made a way to switch between both scripts.
Have a look on there forum http://orangepi.club/forumdisplay.php?fid=40

Re: Safe shutdown script

Posted: Wed 3 Oct 2018 12:05
by zxdunny
torofinance wrote:
Wed 3 Oct 2018 07:37
¿And why will it "kill" the SD card?
If any files are in use when the power fails, the whole card will almost certainly die due to filesystem corruption. Powerloss during gameplay will be usually fine if you're emulating an old ROM based system, but for anything that uses disk images it will kill your card.

Re: Safe shutdown script

Posted: Sun 7 Oct 2018 12:18
by torofinance
Admin wrote:
Wed 3 Oct 2018 11:45
There's already a safeshutdown script that is linked to the GPIO button. But by default it's a rescue button to switch back from HDMI to LCD.
I think retrorangepi made a way to switch between both scripts.
Have a look on there forum http://orangepi.club/forumdisplay.php?fid=40
So I quit to desktop, use the mouse and use "Terminal Emulator" in "Applications Menu", then use vim to edit the file and exit with :wq! yes? ..does not seem to work, I cannot read the tiny error message at the bottom