RetroStone boot problem identified

Here is all the tutorials, FAQ and support for RetroStone
Beads3
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon 20 Aug 2018 19:36

Re: RetroStone boot problem identified

Post by Beads3 » Fri 12 Oct 2018 00:41

Brandon,

I will do that and upload them to youtube when I have the time and will put the link here.

I erased and formatted my sd card through disk utility to FAT32 this time and then reflashed. (as opposed to using apple pie baker as i have been doing in the past) It seems to be working a little better. The biggest thing now is when it loads it goes to the "WELCOME no game pads detected" screen EVERY time. I have to wait about a minute until I can push a button and go on to emulation station.

Brandon
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun 19 Aug 2018 15:49

Re: RetroStone boot problem identified

Post by Brandon » Fri 12 Oct 2018 02:49

I have one RetroStone hooked up to a HDMI display. I will get this error about 1 out of 10 times booting. It will keep looping.

Waiting for PHY auto negotiation to complete .....Timeout! Could not initialize PHY ethernet

Wondering if anyone else gets this error too?

RetroJack
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun 25 Dec 2016 00:38

Re: RetroStone boot problem identified

Post by RetroJack » Fri 12 Oct 2018 10:10

Brandon wrote:
Fri 12 Oct 2018 02:49
I have one RetroStone hooked up to a HDMI display. I will get this error about 1 out of 10 times booting. It will keep looping.

Waiting for PHY auto negotiation to complete .....Timeout! Could not initialize PHY ethernet

Wondering if anyone else gets this error too?
Shorting resistor R23 fixes this issue

User avatar
Admin
Administrateur du site
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat 10 Dec 2016 13:12

Re: RetroStone boot problem identified

Post by Admin » Fri 12 Oct 2018 10:36

Beads3 wrote:
Thu 11 Oct 2018 23:15
Just to be clear...

Are you saying if this mod does not work for us, that the unit is most likely faulty? (this is assuming we have done everything correctly as far as flashing and formatting sd cards and all other proper procedures)

I ask because I have removed the resistor and bridged with solder. The white/ blue screen is now fixed and has not gotten hung up on this since the mod. However, it still only boots correctly every 5 maybe more tries. The errors on screen range from a long looping script that I cannot read to a black screen that never changes to going through the orangepi splash screen with sound then freezing after. Basically it still does something different almost every try.

I have bought an additional Samsung 32GB select sd card as well as use the 16GB that came with it. Both work similar and neither are better or worse it seems. This goes for both images supreme and slim plus as well.

With this information (I know its not everything you need to know) is it safe to say that my unit is faulty? or should I remain patient and wait till better images are produced?
I think your unit is indeed faulty from what you say. You flashed in FAT32? ExFAT can give this kind of behaviour too.
Check this post and if you can feedback on these we'll confirm if it needs to be replaced. viewtopic.php?f=19&t=1760

Edit: Just read your second message, so it seem it was FAT32 problem? Let me know if your problem persist in the future.

User avatar
Admin
Administrateur du site
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat 10 Dec 2016 13:12

Re: RetroStone boot problem identified

Post by Admin » Fri 12 Oct 2018 10:41

Brandon wrote:
Fri 12 Oct 2018 02:49
I have one RetroStone hooked up to a HDMI display. I will get this error about 1 out of 10 times booting. It will keep looping.

Waiting for PHY auto negotiation to complete .....Timeout! Could not initialize PHY ethernet

Wondering if anyone else gets this error too?
Do you have this problem on both RetroStones or only one? I read somewhere about such a problem, apparently with A20 it needs to disable ethernet auto-connect because if no ethernet is connected it will make boot very long/boot loop as CPU will try to initiate ethernet connection (PHY is ethernet).
But I read that about A20 not about H3. But it could be a similar issue. What image are you using when you have this problem?

RetroJack
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun 25 Dec 2016 00:38

Re: RetroStone boot problem identified

Post by RetroJack » Fri 12 Oct 2018 13:18

Admin wrote:
Fri 12 Oct 2018 10:41
Brandon wrote:
Fri 12 Oct 2018 02:49
I have one RetroStone hooked up to a HDMI display. I will get this error about 1 out of 10 times booting. It will keep looping.

Waiting for PHY auto negotiation to complete .....Timeout! Could not initialize PHY ethernet

Wondering if anyone else gets this error too?
Do you have this problem on both RetroStones or only one? I read somewhere about such a problem, apparently with A20 it needs to disable ethernet auto-connect because if no ethernet is connected it will make boot very long/boot loop as CPU will try to initiate ethernet connection (PHY is ethernet).
But I read that about A20 not about H3. But it could be a similar issue. What image are you using when you have this problem?
This seems to be uboot PXE booting because of a missing SD Card (due to the voltage select error, due to the presence of R23).

RetroJack
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun 25 Dec 2016 00:38

Re: RetroStone boot problem identified

Post by RetroJack » Fri 12 Oct 2018 13:25

@pierre, did you build a custom u-boot?

User avatar
Admin
Administrateur du site
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat 10 Dec 2016 13:12

Re: RetroStone boot problem identified

Post by Admin » Fri 12 Oct 2018 13:48

No the u-boot is not customized. I think retrorangepi use the orangepi pc + u-boot.
Which may explain some of the bugs.

Are you familiar about u-boot customization and board config?

User avatar
Admin
Administrateur du site
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat 10 Dec 2016 13:12

Re: RetroStone boot problem identified

Post by Admin » Fri 12 Oct 2018 14:32

If someone does the fix with conductive glue can you take some pictures or a video on how you do it?

Brandon
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun 19 Aug 2018 15:49

Re: RetroStone boot problem identified

Post by Brandon » Fri 12 Oct 2018 20:33

I will have some time tonight to do the following:
Flash the same image to two Retrostones. One has the r23 jumped, one is stock.
Fully charge both units.
I will boot them ask many times as I can and report and problems/differences.

Post Reply