ELI5 Request: How to Install Bios

Here is all the tutorials, FAQ and support for RetroStone
Post Reply
canglingy
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu 11 Oct 2018 03:50

ELI5 Request: How to Install Bios

Post by canglingy » Thu 11 Oct 2018 10:24

Hello everyone,

I am completely new and sometimes totally lost in my attempt to get some games to run on the system. I am hoping to run PSX, PS 2, Atari 800 and Neogeo but it seems like they will not work without the bios on the retrostone. Can someone here teach me step by step where and how should I install/copy the bios to?

Thank you very much!

zxdunny
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon 30 Jul 2018 11:21

Re: ELI5 Request: How to Install Bios

Post by zxdunny » Thu 11 Oct 2018 16:53

Connect via Ethernet. There's a folder for BIOS images and ROM images. There are a few tutorials on this very forum, if you look.

canglingy
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu 11 Oct 2018 03:50

Re: ELI5 Request: How to Install Bios

Post by canglingy » Fri 12 Oct 2018 05:42

I did checked every page before requesting for an ELI5 but there was no bios tutorial in this forum.
The closest I can find is this one (viewtopic.php?f=19&t=1749) which is a tutorial on adding roms not bios.

Okay, will have to purchase an Ethernet cable and try it out. Thanks for pointing me in a direction

Brandon
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun 19 Aug 2018 15:49

Re: ELI5 Request: How to Install Bios

Post by Brandon » Fri 12 Oct 2018 06:13

What is RetroPie?
What is an Emulator?
What are ROMs?
What is a BIOS?
Getting Started...

Just look at the raspberry Pi info. It will be close enough to the Orangepi for the most part....

https://github.com/RetroPie/RetroPie-Setup/wiki



https://github.com/RetroPie/RetroPie-Setup/wiki/BIOS

canglingy
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu 11 Oct 2018 03:50

Re: ELI5 Request: How to Install Bios

Post by canglingy » Fri 12 Oct 2018 06:56

Thank you very much Brandon!

zxdunny
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon 30 Jul 2018 11:21

Re: ELI5 Request: How to Install Bios

Post by zxdunny » Fri 12 Oct 2018 15:18

The process for adding BIOS images is identical to that for ROMs, you just put them in the... BIOS folder?

Post Reply