Problems after 2 extra frontal buttons mod [SOLVED]

Please check here for help solving common issues.
qu1que

Problems after 2 extra frontal buttons mod [SOLVED]

Post by qu1que »

Hi!

I have my Retrostone1 (backed on kickstarter) and now I have RS2 too (it was a gift, not buyed by me).

Last night I've made the 2 extra frontal buttons mod, no problem with that, I've followed tutorial on youtube to know how to open the case carefully (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Swxh_V87yc)

On RS1 I had made the same mod last year, and working all as I expected:

- Made holes
- Add buttons + rubbers pads
- Remap on EmulationStation and all working fine.

On RS2, does not work third point, remapping on ES does not work, it no detects pulsations. So, as I have basic electronic knowledges, I decided to open again the case, extract buttons and rubber pads, and try to make continuity on the pcb contacts with a pair of metal clamps, and start again the remap process. Does not work neither.

So, I look at the RetrOrangePi folder of the RS2 image to search for any file with information about the RS2 controllers. And here's what I found:

/home/pi/RetroPie/retropiemenu/RetrOrangePi/GPIO/driver/tz_gpio_controller.py

And inside that file, I've found this:

Code: Select all

events = ([
		uinput.BTN_DPAD_UP,
		uinput.BTN_DPAD_DOWN,
		uinput.BTN_DPAD_LEFT,
		uinput.BTN_DPAD_RIGHT,
		uinput.BTN_A,
		uinput.BTN_B,
#		uinput.BTN_C,
		uinput.BTN_X,
		uinput.BTN_Y,
#		uinput.BTN_Z,
		uinput.BTN_TL,
		uinput.BTN_TR,
#		uinput.BTN_THUMBL,
#		uinput.BTN_THUMBR,
		uinput.BTN_SELECT,
		uinput.BTN_START,
		uinput.BTN_TL2,
		uinput.BTN_TR2,
		uinput.ABS_X + (0,VREF,0,0),
		uinput.ABS_Y + (0,VREF,0,0),
	])
The Buttons C and Z are commented, I delete the # symbol and restart ES. Then I start again the remap process and now the 2 extra buttons are working like a charm.

Hope it helps!

Regards, Quique.
DarkFire89

Re: Problems after 2 extra frontal buttons mod [SOLVED]

Post by DarkFire89 »

Hi!